Health and Wellbeing | My bathtub story

Rubber_duck_in_pool

 

I have been having some plumbing issues. That is not a euphemism by the way, I’m a lot more ladylike than that. The problem is my bathtub. It began with a somewhat slower-than-normal draining, as if the shower water was a glum teenager dragging her heels and shuffling slowly to the drain, but recently the water movement has decelerated dramatically. A pensioner on a zimmerframe probably moves faster than the water exiting my bathtub. There is nothing that wipes away the cleanliness effect of a nice shower than standing in a puddle of soapy water. Make that ankle deep in a lake of soapy water.

 

Whoosh- blocked pipes be gone!

 

It is partly my fault, I didn’t attack the drains with all my weapons the second I noticed. Although to be fair, I did spend quite a fair amount of time after I noticed researching the problem online, as you do. So last week I purchased some baking soda and white vinegar (ironic since neither ingredients were readily in my kitchen cupboards despite the forum thread being “things you can use do with household items readily available in your home”) and poured the correct amounts down the tub.

 

Quite a bit of fizzing occurred, like the volcano we made in the third grade, and I was quite impressed. But the lake in the bathtub remained, so I poured some more down the drain the next day.

 

Blocked qi in the channels.

 

My boyfriend and I finally gave up on the quaint Little-House-on-the-Prairie approach and went to our local home improvement store. The range of choice is unbelievable from the mild to the truly scary where they all but told you to wear a NASA spacesuit when using the product.

 

Our bodies are like houses, clothes are like furnishings and moisturiser is like wallpaper. Beneath it all is qi flowing through our channels like water through the pipes. If the flow of qi gets obstructed, illness or pain can occur; instead of a blocked sink or toilet you may find yourself experiencing pain or nausea or just feeling generally unwell.

 

As an acupuncturist I always recommend that you seek treatment for your ailments sooner rather than later: take your antihistamines as soon as hayfever season starts rather than wait for the horrible, teary effects; go to the optometrist when you suspect those headaches might be related to your eyesight; have acupuncture to help as pain relief for that lower back. The golden rule is that the longer you wait to get help for anything, the longer it could take to make it better.

 

If only I had listened to my own advice as soon as I sensed trouble after that shower, but as is often the case for many people, we don’t stop to think about what can resolve a situation if the situation is deemed just not that big. A blocked toilet is definitely a problem just as a broken foot would require a cast. However a slow trickling of water in the beginning is similar to that little niggling achy pain that isn’t comfortable but not terrible enough.

 

We chose a non-chemical one in the end, with enzyme producing organisms that are environmentally biodegradable, and are dutifully pouring it down the bathtub every other night. On the bottle, it also recommends using it as a preventative measure, pouring a capful every month or so which we will also be doing. Who knew the process of eliminating bathtub blockages would be so similar to acupuncture?

 

Photo credit: Daniel Rothamel via flickr

Other posts you may be interested in:

 

One thought on “Health and Wellbeing | My bathtub story

  1. Pingback: Rethinking disease with systems medicine | The Happy Acupuncturist

Share your thoughts...

